Home > MS Office Automation > Possible ways: Excel Automation

Possible ways: Excel Automation


Hi,

This post is outcome of love & relationship with excel automation and recent hit back with the same. I would like to praise the courage & efforts of colleagues who restlessly kept on working so that I can write this post 🙂

So starting with the post we’ll go to history from where this all started 🙂

As a aspiring software developer in mid-of  2006 I first came across this notorious requirement where I was required to read excelsheets from one location on the server process the data and then dump it into database. Believe me this requirement put into nodus situation. I had never that this kind of situation could ever arise and if then should not possible at all.

But when I did bit of goggle (I’m god follower from start of my carrier) then I came to know this is very common requirement and there are fair enough solutions (which actually work for all:) ). And that point when I had my first hate and love relationship with excel automation(hate=bcz I never thought of this, love = bcz many handy solutions are around).

Following are the possible approaches by which I had read and wrote to excel file:

READ:

  1. Microsoft OleDB driver:
    1. Jet OleDB for 32 bit applications
    2. ACE.OleDB for 64 bit applications
  2. Microsoft Office COM/ Excel Objects
  3. Stream objects
  4. Excel Services (applicable only for MOSS)

Write:

  1. CSV or delimiter while exporting data to client through HTTPHeaders of ASP.NET
  2. XML and XSLT while exporting data to client through HTTPHeaders of ASP.NET
  3. Microsoft Office COM/ Excel Objects
  4. Open Office SDK (applicable for MSOffice 2007 and above [.xlsx extensions])
  5. Microsoft OleDB driver with SQL queries that pushes data into excel
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

